Running Resolutions

Trying to choose just a few goals for my running is like trying to choose what race to run next  – nearly impossible!  That being said, I know that setting goals allows you to have direction with your training.  So, here’s my attempt to outline my running resolutions for 2015:

1) Always remember that it is a privilege to have the ability to run.  Keeping this in mind will help me to push through the tough workouts, and keep things in perspective when I encounter the inevitable bumps and setbacks along the way.

2) Run another ultra, and complete a new personal best distance in the process (I am eyeing at least 40 miles at Labor Pains in September).

3) Increase my speed, which will hopefully result in at least one PR this year, ideally in a half or full marathon.

4) Spend less time on the treadmill, and more time out running in the real world, especially on trails.

I know that it can be a challenge to increase both speed and distance in the same year, but I think it’s one that I can accomplish.  If running has taught me anything, it’s that you never know your limits until you are willing to push them.  Let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

