A Day in the Life

Okay, I know that my life is far from fascinating, but as I know several bloggers who recently posted their own version of “A day in My Life”, I figured I would jump on the bandwagon.  If nothing else, I hope it might motivate others to see that you can get in your runs, even when life is busy.  Here’s what life is like for me on a typical Tuesday:

4:30am – An evil time for the alarm to go off, but sadly, I’ve gotten pretty used to it over the past two years.  Besides, it’s totally worth getting up early, because I am in a much better mood when I start my day with a run.

4:40am – I have the routine down so well now, that I am usually on the treadmill in the basement to start my run within 10 minutes of hearing the alarm.  Depending on my mood, I run with my iPod, or watch some mindless show on TV.  Lately it has been either “Sportscenter” or “Master Chef Junior”.  At the moment, my Tuesday runs are around 4-5 miles.

5:30am – Stretch, grab some water, and pack up my lunch before jumping in the shower and getting ready for work.

6:15am – Back downstairs to eat breakfast and check email.

6:50am – Gather the kids together and head off to school.  I am fortunate that my husband takes care of getting the kids ready in the morning, which allows me to just worry about myself until we head out the door.

7:20am – Drop the kids at Early Birds and then walk next door to my first grade classroom, to prepare for the day.

8:00am – Spend the next 7 hours with my darling first graders, teaching reading, writing, math, social studies, and all manners of social skills such as how to share, use kind words, negotiate, etc.

2:45pm – Gather together my middle school students for our after school rock climbing club.  Drive the kids to the rock gym, trying to ignore the preteen banter that is floating through the school van.

3:30pm – Spend the next 90 minutes trying to squeeze in a few climbs of my own while I cheer on the students, help the instructor reinforce the rules, etc.  Swallow my pride and remember that while I may still feel young at heart, the fact that these kids are putting me to shame with their climbing skills is a reminder that I am not as young and spry as I may feel. 😉

5:45pm – Return to school and make sure everyone has connected with their parents before taking myself home.

6:15pm – Enjoy a quite house while making dinner for the husband.  Steal a few minutes to check email (I have no Smartphone, and must resort to our desktop) if possible.

6:45pm – Welcome husband and kids home from daughter’s gymnastics class.  Help kids get into pjs and complete the bedtime routine.  Tuck everyone in for the night and pray that they fall asleep quickly and sleep soundly.

7:30pm – Sit down to dinner with husband.  Enjoy a few minutes catching up on our respective days before turning on an episode of Jeopardy, or one of our favorite recorded TV shows.

9:00pm – Get ready for bed and curl up under the covers with my current book.

9:30pm – Lights out.  Morning comes early when you are up before 5am!

And that’s a typical day in my pretty normal life.  I’m fortunate that my husband shares so many of the kid and household duties, allowing me the opportunity to work full-time and still get in my runs.  Please feel free to share how you spend your days, or when you find time to sneak in your runs.

One thought on “A Day in the Life

  1. Okay this makes me feel like a slug!! Very inspiring. I’ve been trying to make the early swim meetings of my new swim club (5:45 or 6 depending on the day). Yes yes I will get there!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

