Running Motivation

Okay, confession time – I ran with a new-ish running partner today, and while we were running she mentioned that she doesn’t really track her mileage.  She just runs for the enjoyment of it.  I would love to be one of those people, but I’m totally not.  Now, that’s not to say that I don’t love running, but I do fear that I would be an inconsistent runner without the proper motivation.

For me, my motivation usually comes in the form of races.  As long as I am signed up for a race, I know that I have to get out and train if I am going to enjoy the experience on race day.  Once I am actually running, I often continue because I enjoy it, but the desire to be well-trained for my race is often what initially gets me out of bed on those cold, dark mornings.

If I’m being truly honest, sometimes I’m even more superficial than that.  Yesterday I found myself signing up for a race specifically because I wanted the hooded sweatshirt that is given to all participants.  Yes, the race is in a convenient location, and several of my friends are running it, and it does fit nicely into my training for my upcoming half marathon.  But the real reason that I signed up is because I want the cute hoodie.  I guess whatever works to get you out the door, right?

Chime in, fellow athletes – What motivates you to run?

One thought on “Running Motivation

  1. Oh I definitely, repeatedly, envision the sticker going on my car! With my new ski habit I’m even considering putting a 140.6 sticker on my ski helmet IF I make it through that thing into next winter 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

