Two Week Test, Day One

IMG_8918

This cauliflower crust wasn’t as crisp as a wheat crust, but it had great flavor and was really filling.

Well, I’ve survived the first day of the Two Week Test.  Due to some scheduling logistics, I kicked off today with a long run, which probably wasn’t the best plan on the first day.  I tend to become pretty ravenous on long run days, which made it slightly challenging to get in enough calories for the day.  I hit a major lull in the early afternoon, but ended the day feeling stuffed after a good dinner.

I managed to make it through 16 miles on the trails by only hydrating with water.  I was definitely dragging a bit at the end of the run, but that could have been due to the lack of sleep, or the fact that my running was pretty inconsistent while on vacation.

For those who want the nitty gritty details, here’s what I ate on the first day:

Breakfast: Egg whites scrambled in butter with tomatoes, spinach,  and mushrooms.  Topped with chopped avocado and grated cheddar cheese.

Snack after running: String cheese, cucumber, and some pistachios

Lunch: A large salad with mixed greens, kale, and purple cabbage, cucumbers, and carrots.  Topped with feta cheese, olives, sliced almonds, and homemade balsamic vinaigrette.  A hard boiled egg on the side.

Afternoon snack: Green olives, cut up carrots & homemade crackers dipped in guacamole.  Seltzer mixed with lime juice

Dinner:  An olive, broccoli, and mushroom pizza on a cauliflower crust and a garden salad

At the rate I’m going, I’m going to need to hit the grocery store again in another day or two.  At least I’m getting in plenty of veggies.  Tomorrow I go back to work, so we’ll see how that works out.

If you’re curious about recipes, I found the cauliflower pizza crust recipe here and the cracker recipe over here.

Leave a Reply

