Halfway Through the Two Week Test

Well, I’ve made it to Day 8, and I have to say that the Two Week Test is going better than I thought it would.  Here’s a quick breakdown.

The Challenges:

  • It takes a considerable amount of time to prep food for each day.
  • I’m getting a bit tired of eggs and salad.
  • I’ve discovered that a side effect from the past few days is a constant dry mouth/thirsty feeling.

The Benefits:

  • I’ve found that cauliflower is an incredibly versatile vegetable.
  • The constant hunger that I used to experience has vanished.
  • I have more energy, especially during what used to be my “afternoon slump.”

 

In addition to sticking to the strict food guidelines, I’ve been tracking my training with a heart rate monitor.  The first two days were actually fairly easy, and I was surprised to find that I seem to have a decent aerobic base already.  Day three was a bit tougher, probably because my legs were a bit tired, but I was still able to stay in my range without a problem.

Saturday was another story, when I hit the trails for a long run.  The flats were okay, and I cruised easily on the downhills, but whenever I hit the slightest uphill, I almost instantly went above my upper limit.  This resulted in quite a bit of walking on even the smallest of slopes.  A bit frustrating, but not at all surprising.

My favorite new recipes from the past week?

  • Cauliflower rice for both kabobs and a tofu fried rice
  • Herb crackers, which go great with guacamole
  • Vegetarian lasagna with zucchini noodles

I’m off to try an almond flour pancake recipe, in the attempt to get a brief break from my usual omelet in the morning.  So excited to be on the back end of this test!

IMG_8921

Wednesday night’s Fajita Tofu Kabobs over Cauliflower Rice

Leave a Reply

