Two Week Test Food Breakdown

When researching the Two Week Test, it was hard to think about how to approach it as a vegetarian.  I had previously relied a lot on whole grains and legumes in my diet and the thought of eliminating those and still eating enough calories was daunting.  In the interest of sharing my experience with other vegetarians, here’s what I ate to make it through the two weeks and still feel happy and satisfied.

Breakfast:

omelet with mushrooms, spinach, tomatoes, and swiss cheese with chopped avocado on the side

OR

almond pancakes with almond butter and unsweetened whipped cream

I ate the omelet almost daily, but the pancakes were a nice change when I felt like I just couldn’t stomach another egg.

Lunch:

large salad with mixed greens, cucumber, carrots, pepper, feta cheese, olives, and almonds and two hard-boiled eggs on the side

Once or twice, I had a bit of leftovers from a previous dinner, with a side salad just to mix things up.

Snacks:

full fat yogurt with vanilla, cinnamon, and pecans

cheese

cut up veggies or almond herb crackers dipped in guacamole

mixed nuts

green olives

Dinner:

veggie pizza made on cauliflower crust

veggie lasagna made with zucchini noodles

pesta sauce over spaghetti squash

fajita tofu kabobs

tofu “fried rice” served over cauliflower rice

I really just rotated these five meals, and ate each with either a side salad, or a side of roasted vegetables such as broccoli or brussel sprouts.

Drinks:

I mainly stuck with water, though I had a glass of plain seltzer mixed with lemon or lime juice each night as a treat.  I drank tea each morning on my way to work, and indulged in two glasses of dry red wine over the course of the two weeks.

 

One thought on “Two Week Test Food Breakdown

  1. Pingback: Two Week Test Final Thoughts | Eat, Read, Run

Leave a Reply

