A Man Called Ove Book Review

Alright, I’m back from my fun adventures over the past month.  After weeks spent in Lewes, DE and Acadia, ME, along with a trip to West Virginia for a Ragnar relay, it’s time to return to “normal” life and begin to prepare for the start of the school year.

Before I totally sink into September school tasks, however, I wanted to share with you all a couple of posts that have been on my mind lately.  The first is a fantastic book that I recently read, “A Man Called Ove,” by Fredrik Backman.

Summer is the time when I get the chance to catch up on a lot of reading, and I recently treated myself and ordered a few “wish list” books from Amazon.  Ove was not on my original list, but I had heard good things, and so in the interest of branching out, I decided to give it a shot.

I must admit that it was a bit hard for me to get into this book.  The book is written in the present tense, which is usually a rule breaker for me.  I’m just not a fan of that type of writing.  I promised myself to give it a chance, however, so I powered through the first few chapters.  Boy, am I glad that I did!

Ove is a crotchety 59-year-old man.  The book begins with a run-in that he has with a new neighbor and then jumps back and forth between the present time and earlier events in Ove’s life.  In a way, it reminded me of “Girl on a Train” in that it is kind of like putting together a puzzle – you slowly add pieces and the picture begins to come together more.  I like books like that, as they make you think and keep you guessing a bit.

The more that I learned about Ove’s character, the more that I fell in love with him.  Honestly, there were times when I just hugged my book because there was a bit of writing that touched me so deeply.  Hokey, I know, but totally true.  Backman did a fantastic job of developing not just Ove’s character, but all of the characters in the book.  There are so many layers to these people, and it makes you want to get to know them in real life.

I know I’m being deliberately vague, but I would hate to give away anything crucial before you have the chance to read it for yourself.  For now, let me say that I laughed, cried, and felt deeply while reading this story, and that when I was finished, I felt a bit mournful to put it down and leave those characters behind.   Please, please, take my recommendation and pick up a copy of Ove for yourself.  It’s definitely worth the read!

Leave a Reply

