In Running Limbo

wissahickon-autumn-trail

These laid-back autumn runs have been nice, but I’m ready to get back on a real schedule.

Anyone who knows me, knows I’m a planner.  I like following a schedule, in life in general, but especially in running.  It’s one of the many reasons that I hate taking time off.  I feel much better when I’m working towards a goal.

After making it through my gauntlet of autumn ultras in October, I forced myself to take a bit of a break.  Of course, I had all this extra time on my hands, so I used it to plan out my racing schedule for the next year.  I planned to run North Country 50 miler in August, Worlds End 50K in June, Dirty German 50K in May, and Hyner 25K in April.  Life was good.

Of course, as always seems to happen when you make a plan, the universe decided to throw me a curveball.  My Ragnar team captain from 2014 sent me an email.  He’s getting the team back together for this June’s Ragnar and he wanted to know if I was in.  As a Ragnar Ambassador, I should really run the race, but I was going to hold off because I really wanted to do Worlds End again.  It felt like this was a sign, a reason to run it this year, so I agreed to join him and put my dream of a return to Worlds End on hold.  My plan was slightly shifted, but still good overall.

Then I received my daughter’s gymnastics schedule.  This is her first year competing, so I knew we would have some meets we would have to work around.  I was concerned there might be one scheduled on the same day as Hyner, but it ended up being a week later.  All good.  Of course, until I scrolled down and discovered that her state championships are the weekend of Dirty German.  The really fun part about gymnastics meets is that you rarely find out the day and time of your actual session until a few weeks beforehand.  Which means that I could be clear for the race, or I could discover that I couldn’t run it just 2 weeks out.  It would be awful to train for 4 months to have to miss out on the race.

So now I’m at a total loss for where to go next.  Logic would say that I should forget about the longer spring races and just do Hyner and Ragnar in the lead-up to North Country.  I hate that idea.   This past year has taught me just how much I love trail 50ks, and I want to run another one.  The training helps me to balance all of the stress in my normal life, and I know I won’t commit to the training unless I have an actual race in my future.  I was feeling so desperate today that I found myself considering a 100k for next fall.  Stupid.

I need the universe to send me some kind of obvious, clear-cut sign.

Leave a Reply

